Real Books Are Better

Let’s take care of first things first… I absolutely love to read.  Since I’m a writer, that was probably a pretty easy guess.  And I prefer to read real books; please allow me to explain.  By “real” I mean books made from paper, as opposed to electronic books or reading books on a computer screen.  The reason I bring this up?  A friend recently told me how much he loves to read his books on the computer.

Therefore, I have made a list of seven reasons I feel paper books are better than books in electronic form.

1) Books are soft and pliable, something you can cuddle with in bed or in a comfy chair.  Have you ever tried cuddling with a computer?

2) If you accidentally drop a book, you can pick it up and continue reading.  A computer… not so much.

3) You can lie down and rest a book on your face, breathing in the wonderful scents of the paper and binding.  I dare you to try that with a computer.

4) You can set your coffee cup on your book.  Computers don’t make good coasters.

5) You can hide things in books, like money.  Computers tend put up a fuss when you try to stuff things into them.

6) You can make little notes in the margins of your book.  On a computer… Oh yeah, never mind.

7) Finally, what on earth are you going to do with all those great book marks?

Published in: on June 6, 2012 at 9:48 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jamescrowley.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/real-books-are-better/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I actually have a post arguing the opposite =) But touche, fellow blogger, some good points made!


Leave a comment